Welcome To My Life

To all my followers and those of you stumbling upon this blog, I would like to introduce my new blog. I have decided to dedicate New York Insomniac as a place where I can share my experiences as I attempt to see the world, one city at a time.

I felt that there was no better way to start my blog than by posting about my study abroad experience this past semester. I don’t even know where to begin to reflect on this semester because I have experienced so many things I never thought I would and have learned things about myself that I am grateful to know. If you’re still interested, my random thoughts will follow below.

I should probably start off with the fact that I almost didn’t study abroad. During the summer, I had complications attaining my student visa and actually picked it up at the Czech Consulate Office in New York two days before I left New York for the summer. As soon as I held that visa in my hands, I could not begin to imagine what adventures were in store for me in Prague.

I arrived in Prague at the end of August. My first time in Europe. I tried to not have any expectations but I couldn’t help but be a little excited. I was in Europe, after all. A place I had always dreamed of going but never thought I would actually make it to. Then, at only twenty-one years old, I find myself traveling to multiple European cities and meeting people from all around the world. How much luckier can you get?

At first, I had a difficult time adjusting to life in the Czech Republic. It can be difficult for me to make friends at first in a new place and I was missing my friends back in the United States a lot. I went through a depression stage the first few weeks and I was also jet lagged my first week.

Although, after a few weeks, I slowly grew more accustomed to living in Europe and realized I shouldn’t be sad. I have no reason to be sad. I’m studying in Europe. There are so many people that would love to trade places with me. I should be grateful I’m even here.

That was basically my introduction to my study abroad experience. If I had to summarize this semester in a paragraph, I would have to say there has been lots of laughs, new friendships, goulash, pivo, heartbreak and traveling. Lots of traveling.

A more detailed post about my cultural experience abroad will come soon. Most likely when I’m back in America and reflecting on living abroad, when my reverse culture shock is seriously going to kick in. I’m not ready but at the same time, a stable life sounds appealing right now.

Thanks again for all your guys’ support and I look forward to seeing new faces here. It means a lot.

Until next time,

Adam

Leave a Reply

